It is one of Semitic language spoken that is the official language of 22 Arab countries. Likewise, the relationship of Arabic to the other Semitic languages remains a matter of debate. The most widely accepted theory, which classifies Arabic within a Central Semitic grouping, postulates a relationship close to Aramaic and the Canaanite languages based on the similarities between their respective verb structures. It is written in a North Semitic script that is likely descended from the Nabataean alphabet.

Arabic has influenced many other languages around the globe throughout its history especially languages of Muslim cultures and countries that were conquered by Muslims. Some of the most influenced languages are Persian and Turkish. Conversely, Arabic has borrowed words from other languages, including Aramaic as well as Latin, Greek, Persian and to a lesser extent Turkish (due to the Ottoman Empire).

Modern Standard Arabic (MSA), which differs minutely from Classical Arabic in in most publications ranging from newspapers to novels and in formal broadcasts such as news programs and political speeches.

The main difference between Modern Standard Arabic (MSA) and Classical Arabic lies in the vocabulary. MSA reflects the needs of contemporary expression whereas Classical Arabic reflects the needs of older styles.

It is used in the liturgical language of the religion of Islam, since the Quran and the Hadiths were written in Classical Arabic.

Arabic is one of six official languages of the United Nations. All varieties of Arabic combined are spoken by 467 million people around the world., making it the fifth most spoken language in the world and the fourth most used language on the internet in terms of users.

In 2011, Bloomberg Businessweek ranked Arabic the fourth most useful language for business, after English, Standard Mandarin Chinese, and French.

Arabic speaking countries are: Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Western Sahara and Yemen.

The Arabic language consists of 28 alphabetical letters and is written from right to left.